A ‘Good’ Teacher

As a teacher working with children in the early years I have always strived to be what I thought was a good teacher. However I’ve begun to wonder what exactly a ‘good’ teacher is. Is it listening to the children, answering the myriad of questions and showing them my full and unbiased attention? Is it offering child led experiences, while always extending and scaffolding their learning through challenges? Is it working in partnership with families, other teachers, the community.  What about trying to be a good role model, keeping in mind that every chid is individual in their learning approach as well as independent in their character and personality.  I’m sure there are more and the list could be endless.

While I continued to wonder I thought and realised that a teacher is a human being who has a passion, as do so many others in  the many professions in this world.  As a teacher we are responsible for the development of minds and bodies in anything from 20 to 30 and maybe more young people.

I know that every school may have a different idea of what constitutes a good teacher. I learnt to be a teacher in Australia and am now understanding that in England, early learning is something different.  All these ideas have been running free around my head while I try and decide how I can be good or better still great as a teacher!

So, as I’ve said I’ve wondered what a good teacher is and have come down to this, a good teacher is, in my opinion, simply a person who is genuine, honest and finds enjoyment in the work that they do. I see teaching as a collaboration with the children, their families and being open to ways sometimes unchartered, in giving children the knowledge and experience to move onward and upward. Of course there is the curriculum to follow, however I also believe that learning should always be fun, with loads of aha moments; giving a child the confidence to move on to the next challenge.

About karendgoss

Listening to music, cooking, writing, traveling (exploring histories, hiking), yoga, reading and exploring what life has to offer. To name a few of my likes, loves and passions.
Image | This entry was posted in Early Learning and Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

