Music Is To Me…

Let me start by saying I always have music in my head. I wake everyday with a song or tune doing the rounds in my mind, and this continues as the day progresses. I’m not sure why this is, in a way I’m okay with it as the music (song or tune) is taking place of the many thoughts that could be vying for attention! Also as I move through the day, sitting on the bus or train, walking, in a café, standing waiting for the bus or train, I hear rhythms, beats and sometimes the beginning of a tune in the sounds around me. I’ve never really explored this, maybe I could have done or still could, but it has just always been normal to me.

This morning I posted something on Facebook, which was related to music. It had something to do with the music that a parent could play to help soothe their child to sleep. It wasn’t until tonight that I went through the list, and listened to the songs that the author of the article had chosen. Most of them I knew, and some I didn’t, until now. When I had finished listening to the songs I started to think about the role music has played in my life. After going through all the music I have on iTunes, I realised that the songs and tunes have been what helped keep me sane and certainly lightened some of those dark clouds as I moved through life. They hold some very powerful and wonderful memories, including lots of love and laughter. They help me call to mind the places I have lived and amazing people I have met.

While some people have reached for alcohol, or some other drug to keep them going, I have always reached for music. And my love of so many genres is partly down to my parents’ taste and what they played, the influence of friends and the radio or music television shows like Sounds and Countdown as I grew up. Also as I have grown my curiosity has taken me along the path of sounds that are new to me, some I like, some I dropped like a red hot poker.

So anyway, after much thinking I decided to put a short list of songs together that possibly begin to sum me up, that have either lifted me or carried me forward, or just inspire me to dance around the kitchen as I cook! Anyone might look at my list and groan or wonder why on earth I would listen to some of these songs, but this is a collection that can only be likened to a drop in the ocean, and of course completely personal. These are songs I can still play over and over at any given time and stir many memories.

  1. It’s Now or Never – Elvis
  2. Mississippi – Pussycat
  3. As Long As You Follow – Fleetwood Mac
  4. You’re The Best Thing – Style Council
  5. Patience – Guns N Roses
  6. Cello Suite #1 In G… – Bach
  7. Throw Your Arms Around Me – Hunters & Collectors
  8. Thriller – Michael Jackson
  9. Superstar – Jamelia
  10. My Life – The Beatles
  11. I Can Hear Music – The Beach Boys
  12. Into The Groove – Madonna
  13. Beautiful Stranger – Madonna
  14. My Love is Your Love – Whitney Houston
  15. Feeling Good – Nina Simone
  16. Listen To The Man – George Ezra

Finally the best way I can describe the effect music continues to have on me is written in a poem I found on Pinterest –

Music speaks what cannot be expressed

Soothes the mind and gives it rest.

Heals the heart and makes it whole

Flows from heaven to the soul.

Author unknown.

https://au.pinterest.com/pin/376543218815059733/

 

 

About karendgoss

Listening to music, cooking, writing, traveling (exploring histories, hiking), yoga, reading and exploring what life has to offer. To name a few of my likes, loves and passions.
This entry was posted in Growing up, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

